New Zealand' Pacific Access Category (PAC) Immigration Policy

Activity Type: PolicyLIVELIHOOD
Status: Ongoing
Funding Source:  
Locations: 1. Funafuti, Tuvalu
2. Nuku'alofa, Tonga
3. Suva, Fiji
4. Tarawa, Kiribati
Start Date: July, 2002  Duration:  
Total Funding: --- 
Donor: n/a
Recipient: Governments of Tuvalu and New Zealand
Thumbnail for
The Pacific Access Category (PAC) is an immigration arrangement that was negotiated in 2001 between the governments of Tuvalu, Fiji, Kiribati, Tonga and New Zealand3 to enable people from these nations, which are already experiencing the effects of climate change, to move to a less vulnerable location. Each country has been allocated a set quota of citizens who can be granted residency in New Zealand each year.

Project Website

Other Themes: Tuvalu